Brainerd School Board: District approves preventative care agreement with dentistry

Brainerd School Board members Tom Haglin (left), Bob Nystrom and Sue Kern participated in a vote to contract Cosmetic Family Dentistry to provide preventative services for ISD 181 students. Gabriel Lagarde / Brainerd Dispatch

The Brainerd School Board voted Monday, May 14, to sign an agreement between the district and Cosmetic Family Dentistry—a partnership to implement the Minnesota school-based Dental Sealant Program, a statewide initiative to improve the health and well-being of students.

Per the affiliated documents, the contract is slated to run from the signing date until the end of the 2018-19 school year. In approving the agreement, the Brainerd School District authorizes the dentistry to provide preventative dental care to students participating in the program.

To that end, Cosmetic Family Dentistry will be provided appropriate work space on the district’s dollar. The district will also notify students of available services and distribute parental consent forms. Working with the dentistry, the district will determine the students eligible for this service, but the district reserves the final discretionary authority.

In return, Cosmetic Family Dentistry—local offices at 6980 Fairview Road, Baxter—will provide oral screenings, prophylaxis (cleanings), topical fluoride treatments, dental sealants, oral health instructions and data collection.

Assistant Superintendent Aaron Sinclair said a pilot form of the program was tested at Garfield Elementary School this year. The partnership would expand the program to the rest of the institutions in the Brainerd School District. The program comes at no cost to the district and is funded by initiatives of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

In other business, the board:

Approved an application for the Brainerd High School band field trip for the symphonic band and wind symphony to take part in musical opportunities and attractions March 10-17, 2019, in New Orleans. As stipulated in the request document, students will participate in performances and clinics with area college faculty. Other opportunities include a special concert as part of the National Festival of the States Concert Series, a jazz riverboat dinner cruise, a concert at Preservation Hall, a visit to the National World War II Museum and a tour of the French Quarter.

Accepted the retirements/resignations/terminations of non-teaching staff, including Priscilla Faye DeMarre, a building secretary at Garfield Elementary School, retirement effective June 15; Nathalie Klasky, a special education assistant at Riverside Elementary School, resignation effective Aug. 1; Ariana LeVine, a special education assistant at Brainerd High School, resignation effective May 10; Ronald Nielsen, a custodian at Riverside; leave expired effective April 7; Kathleen Rushmeyer, a secretary at Brainerd Learning Center, retirement effective May 15; Susan Simon, head cook at BHS south campus, retirement effective May 30; Susan Wentworth, a special education assistant at Garfield Elementary School, resignation effective June 1.

Approved the hire of new non-certified employees, including Anthony Flowers, a custodian at Forestview Middle School, transfer-replacement effective April 30; and Marylou Smith, a secretarial-registrar at BHS, resignation replacement effective May 21.

Approved the hire of new certified employee Tamara Nelson, assistant principal at Riverside, transfer replacement effective July 1.

Approved a request to create positions, including an assistant director of community education for early childhood programs, as well as the part-time position of lead special education teacher of Riverside.

Approved a request to eliminate the full-time position of lead special education teacher of Riverside.

Approved family and medical leave requests—12 week approved leave, with 12-month long term medical concurrent leave as needed—for Joshua Duerr, effective April 18; Luksamee Jones, effective May 2; Sandra Lander, effective April 16; Allison Medeck, effective April 4; and Melissa Raddatz, effective May 1.

Accepted gifts and donations to the district: $30 from L. Hansen for the Snack Cart program at Garfield Elementary; $250 from the Nisswa Woman’s Club for the science, technology, engineering and mathematics program at Nisswa Elementary School; $1,852 from the Minnesota Historical Society for field trip costs at Riverside; $3,490 from Crow Wing County Statewide Health Improvement Program for grants at Riverside; $3,000 from the Riverside Parent Teacher Organization for the gym video screen; $2,851.90 from Box Tops for Education for student activities at Riverside; $200 from Michael Olson for student supplies at Riverside; $500 from Walmart for student snacks at Riverside; $200 from Brainerd Lakes Area Women of Today for student activities at the Early Childhood Family Education facility; and $10 from Capella University for student activities at the Brainerd Learning Center.

Conferred tenure to faculty, including Landon Brainerd, a business teacher at BHS; Beth Cooper, a special education teacher at Riverside; Amanda Dens, a second-grade teacher at Baxter Elementary School; Shawn Duerr, an early childhood special education teacher at Washington Education Service Building; Amber Finnegan an early childhood special education teacher at Washington Education Services Building; Amy Foley, a kindergarten teacher at Baxter; Spencer Frie, the orchestra director at BHS; Nail Ghazaryan Diemer, a developmental cognitive disabilities teacher at Forestview; Grant Gmeinder, a physical education teacher at Forestview; Stacey Gorr, a speech language pathologist at Harrison Elementary School; Eric Grimsby, a physical education teacher at Nisswa; Amy Gundlach, a speech language pathologist at Washington; Tasha Halsted, a first-grade teacher at Riverside; Toni Hidalgo, a first-grade teacher at Garfield; Angela Jelinski, a sixth-grade teacher at Forestview; Dana Kaiser, a math teacher at BHS; Erin Karlgaard, a third-grade teacher at Lowell; Jeanne Kilian, an autism spectrum disorder teacher at Forestview; Robb Kolodziej, a science teacher at BHS; Laura Lind, a deaf and hard of hearing teacher at Riverside; Theresa Meyer, an interventionist at Harrison; Kristen Morton Aldous, a physical impairment specialist at Paul Bunyan Education Center; Tamara Nelson, a special education teacher at Riverside; Carrie Neumann, a Title 1 teacher at Garfield; Kelsi Olson, an associate band instructor at BHS; Laura Paulson, a kindergarten teacher at Riverside; Michelle Pfeiffer, a first-grade teacher at Nisswa; Steffanie Sanford, an English teacher at BHS; Jennessa Spry, a first-grade teacher at Riverside; Whitney Ulrich, an occupational therapist at Paul Bunyan Education Center; Trisha Waytashek, a kindergarten teacher at Riverside; Trisha Wenz, a kindergarten teacher at Riverside and Mikkel White, a multimedia teacher at BHS.

Crash injures driver and passenger

Minn. man identified after divers recover his body in Mississippi River

2 Fargo schools ranked among best in ND by U.S. News

Source Article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *